© 2020 Columbia Sailing School

111 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 Ph: 312.938.3625 email: sail@colyc.org

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
First Sail Experience

Take the First Sail Experience to see first-hand why sailing is one of the most exhilarating activities on Earth! This unique on-the-water opportunity is designed to provide a memorable experience that will motivate newcomers to continue sailing. Participants will learn with an instructor in a keelboat at Columbia Sailing School. Additionally, all First Sail Experience participants will have access to Basic Keelboat Online, a US Sailing online training course designed to prepare beginners for their first time on the water. It's a two-hour experience for anyone.

Price: $25

2020 "First Sail" Dates

Saturday, May 30: 2-4pm

Sunday, May 31, 2-4pm

Saturday, June 6: 2-4pm

Sunday, June 7: 2-4pm

Saturday, June 13: 2-4pm

Sunday, June 14: 2-4pm

Saturday, June 20: 2-4pm

Sunday, June 21: 2-4pm

Saturday, June 27: 2-4pm

Sunday, June 28: 2-4pm

Saturday, July 11: 2-4pm

Sunday, July 12: 2-4pm

Saturday, July 18: 2-4pm

Sunday, July 19: 2-4pm

Saturday, July 25: 2-4pm

Sunday, July 26: 2-4pm

Saturday, August 1: 2-4pm

Sunday, August 2: 2-4pm

Saturday, August 8: 2-4pm

Sunday, August 9: 2-4pm

Saturday, August 15: 2-4pm

Sunday, August 16: 2-4pm

Saturday, August 22: 2-4pm

Sunday, August 23: 2-4pm

Saturday, August 29: 2-4pm

Sunday, August 30: 2-4pm

Learn to Sail

Our Learn to Sail course will begin to develop a foundation of sailing skills. You will learn boat parts and their purposes, how to rig and de-rig a boat, points of sail, and basic boat handling skills in this introductory course.  We'll get you sailing the boat in your very first lesson!

Price: $150

2020 "Learn to Sail" Dates

Thursday, May 7: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, May 14: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, May 21: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, May 28: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, June 4: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, June 11: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, June 18: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, June 25: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, July 2: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, July 9: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, July 16: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, July 23: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, July 30: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, August 6: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, August 13: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, August 20: 6-8:30pm

Thursday, August 27: 6-8:30pm

Basic Keelboat Certification Course

This 20 hour course is taught in our Colgate 26 keelboats, with a small student:instructor ratio and includes a comprehensive work book. You will learn all aspects of sailing, docking and how to safely captain a boat. Upon completion of this course and a theory test, students receive US Sailing's Basic Keelboat Certification which is accepted at many locations (including Columbia) to rent a boat without a captain. There are no prerequisites for this class, however many participants with no experience elect to participate in a "First Sail" to gain some experience prior to signing up for the Basic Keelboat Certification Course.

Price: $670

2020 "Basic Keelboat Certication" Dates

Weekends – 8:00am-1:00pm

Session 1: May 9, 10, 16, 17

Session 2: May 23, 24, 30, 31

Session 3: June 6, 7, 13, 14

Session 4: 20, 21, 27, 28

Session 5: July 11, 12, 18, 19

Session 6: July 25, 26, August 1, 2

Session 7: August 8, 9, 15, 16

Session 8: August 22, 23, 29, 30

Session 9: September 5, 6, 12, 13

Weekdays – 6:00pm-9:00pm

Wednesday Session 1: May 5, 13, 20, 27, June 3, 10

Friday Session 1: May 8, 15, 22, 29, June 5, 12

Friday Session 2: June 19, 26, July 3, 10, 17, 24

Intermediate/Advanced Keelboat Class

2020 will be our 3rd season of our Advanced Keelboat and Racing class in conjunction with our Wednesday night Colgate Beercan Series!

In our Advanced Keelboat Class you will continue to grow your skills in all aspects of seamanship; in addition, learning how to use the spinnaker and basics of racing.  You will be competing against other Colgate 26’s from the area in our weekly series called the Chicago Inshore Beercan Series and be included in our Wednesday night parties for sailors racing in the Beercan series.  With hundreds of other sailors joining our Wednesday Series there is plenty of opportunity to meet people in the community and continue to grow your sailing network.

Prerequisite: Resume and/or Successful Completion of the Basic Keelboat Course

 

This class will be fun, but also competitive and a little more athletic than the Basic Keelboat class.  You will be moving around the boat a lot more and racing, we ask that you consider that before signing up, and reach out with any questions you might have!

Wednesday Evenings

Session 1: June 17-July 22, Session 2: July 29-September 2: 6:00pm-9:00pm

Prices: $670

Tiller Time 

Tiller time is an opportunity to advance your skills after your successful completion of the Basic Keelboat Course. You'll work as a team, with a coach alongside in a safety boat, giving you tips between maneuvers and reinforcing the skills that you learned in BK. 

Tuesday Evenings, 6-9pm:

May 5, 12, 19, 26

Sunday Afternoons, 2-5pm:

May 10, 17, 24, 31

Price: $300